Top 10 Highest Himalaya Mountains Peaks of Uttarakhand



Top 10 Highest Himalaya Mountains Peaks of Uttarakhand

Posted By : Jai Govind Meena/ 8359 34

Some of the Highest Peaks of Uttarakhand

The Himalayas is divided into five regions i.e. Punjab Himalayas, Kumaon Himalayas, Nepal Himalayas and Assam Himalayas. Himalayas are home to various snow capped peaks, here is the list of some of the highest peak of Uttarakhand.

Most famous Himalayan Peaks in Uttarakhand

1. Nanda Devi (7816 m, 25,636 ft)

Nanda Devi is the highest peak wholly in India lies in Kumaon Himalayas in Uttarakhand. Nanda Devi is a two peak massif forming a 2 kms long east west ridge. Nanda Devi main is higher and together these peaks are referred as twin peaks of goddess Nanda. Nanda Devi is known for its steep rise from the local terrain, it rises over 3300 m from its base on the south Nanda Devi glaciers. Renowned mountaineer Mr. Kushang Sherpa of Himalayan Mountaineering Institute describes it as the toughest peak to climb in the world.

Manali Trekking places - Best one day trek in Manali
Photo Crdit: Sarabjit Lehal (

2. Chaukhamba (7138 m, 23412 ft)

Chaukhamba meaning four pillars is the highest mountain massif in the Gangotri group of Himalayas of the Western Garhwal. The four peaks have heights of respectively 7138 7088 6995 and 6854m. On the western slopes lies the head the Gangotri glacier. The Gangotri glacier gives rise to the Bhagirathi, one of the two main sources of the holy river Ganga.


The Mighty Chaukhamba on the Chopta Tungnath Trek

3.Trishul  (7120 m, 23353 ft)

Trishul massif is a group of three Himalayan mountain peaks which takes the shape of a trident. Trishul Mountain lies in northern Kumaon region of Uttarakhand in Bageshwar district and is best viewed from Kausani or during the Roopkund Trek from Bedini Bugyal.


Mount Trishul

4. Satopanth (7075 m, 23206 ft)

Satopanth is formed from two Sat means Truth and Panth means path, so Satopanth means Path of Truth. Mt. Satopanth situated in Garwhal Himalaya and second highest peak in the Gangotri Group of Garwhal Himalaya range separating the Gangotri and Chaturangi glaciers. Mt. Satopanth is quite famous among those who want to move to next level of Mountaineering as their first climbing peak.


Mount Satopanth

5. Kedarnath (6962 m,22835 ft)

Mount Kedarnath is a part of Gangotri Group of peaks in the western Garhwal Himalaya in Uttarakhand. Mount Kedarnath has a sub peak called Kedarnath dome and they both were first climbed together, in 1947, by a Swiss team led by André Roch.


Mount Kedarnath

Photo Credit: Rabin

6. Panchachuli Peaks (6905 m, 22649 ft)

Panchachuli lies in eastern Kumaon Himalayas in Pithoragarh district of Uttarakhand. It is believed that this is the place ‘Five Chulis’ (cooking hearths) where the Pandavas cooked their last meal on the way to heaven. They are majestic and form a famous barrier between Darma and Gauri Valleys. Panchachuli base camp trekking route is one of the exciting basecamp trekking.


Panchachuli Peaks from Khaliya Top trek

7. Thalaysagar (6904 m, 22645 ft)

Mountain Thalay Sagar is located just north of Gangotri in Western Garhwal Himalayas. It is one of the most difficult mountains in the Garhwal with no easy ascent route and to be considered as the test piece of contemporary mountaineering. In 2008 the first successful Indian ascent was accomplished by Mr. Basanta Singha Roy the famous mountaineer (He is a banker works with Panjab National Bank) from West Bengal.


Thalaysagar Peak

8. Changabang (6866 m, 22520 ft)

Changabang peak is part of the Garhwal Himalaya of Uttarakhand and it is part of a group of peaks that form the northeast wall of the Nanda Devi Sanctuary. Changbang is particularly is a rocky and steep peak in Garhwal Himalayas and considered as tougher climbs though having a lower altitude than other peaks in the vicinity.


Changabang Peak

Photo Credi: Doug Scott

9. Nanda Kot (6861 m, 22504 ft)

Nanda Kot peak lies in Kumaon Himalayas of Uttarakhand just outside of the ring of peaks enclosing the Nanda Devi Sanctuary. The name Nanda Kot literally means “Nanda’s Fortress” and refers to the abode of one of the sacred forms of the Hindu Goddess Parvati.


Mount Nanda Kot

Photo Credit: Lost in Nature

10.Bhagirathi (6856 m, 22487 ft)

The highest peak of the Bhagirathi Group forms a complex and topographically complicated massif. Mount Bhagirathi has three major peaks. It stands at and dominates the end of the valley leading up to Gaumukh which is the end of the Gangotri Glacier and the source of the river Ganga. The upper part of the river Ganga is also called Bhagirathi, and both the mountain and the river are named after King Bhagirath.


Mount Bhagirathi
  • {}
    Pratik Choudhary
    May 23, 2017

    Sir do you arrange trekkings with guides if I am interested in going solo?

  • {}
    October 25, 2016

    Do you arrange trekking in one of them.

  • {}
    Hruday chand
    July 14, 2016

    Great write up and beautiful images. Looks like had good time. Thank you…

  • {}
    Shruti rawat
    March 14, 2015

    I want to know about the mystery of Nanda Devi..

  • {}
    Gaurav lohia
    February 28, 2015

    nanda devi is about 7818m or so not 74** 🙂

1 2 3

Leave your comment

Please enter comment.
Please enter your name.
Please enter your email address.
Please enter a valid email address.